Post GW5 thoughts

Screen Shot 2018-09-18 at 5.06.07 pm.png57 points this week is just about where I expected to score. Typically our teams score 55-63 points per week in terms of expected points.

Captain Aguero – Unusually, my captain Aguero scored 7 points which was exactly his projected score for the week and that hardly happens. These captain picks typically have super high variance and Hazard this week is a good example of that. Expected to score just around 0.25 points more than Aguero this week, he went on to record a 20 point haul. Unfortunately, I could not justify using a transfer or 2 (due to funds) to bring Hazard in this week even though he was the marginally best option in GW5 and I don’t regret or feel terrible about this at all. What we need to constantly do is only think of increasing and maximizing our points over the course of the season with our precious free transfers and we start by being a little more forward thinking.

Liverpool Duo – Unfortunately both Salah and Mane fired blanks this week while Firmino got in on the points and that intensifies the debate on whether it is still justifiable to have Salah in our teams with Mane seemingly matching or even outscoring him for the first few weeks. For me this is a very easy decision as mentioned in Mo Salah or No Salah? I did take a look at their statistics and projected output solely based on the season thus far as well and guess what I found, Mane has been the biggest over-performer for the season while Salah is the biggest under-performer. I think that says enough. As also mentioned previously I am looking to drop Mane as there are a couple of better options at the moment but as always I will be looking to fix the weakest link in my team.

Wolves Duo – Jimenez and Doherty both delivered this week with Doherty being particularly satisfying as he was brought in for a hit. Doherty looked amazing throughout the game with numerous crosses and good runs into the box and he now leads all defenders in terms of shots in the box. He could even afford to miss a glorious chance when put through on goal by Jimenez. Jimenez looked lively as well and he does seem like he will have chances put his way due to the way Wolves play (they had 30 shots in total against Burnley!) with my only concern being the quality of his finishing as it does not seem exceptional but overall his numbers look great and he fully warrants his GW1 inclusion in my team.

Everton Duo – For the first 4 weeks, both Richarlison and Walcott were simply crushing it stats wise. Due to suspension and injury concerns they have somewhat fallen off the radar and it did not help that Walcott did not have a good game in GW5 and he is now arguably the weakest link in my team. Not that he is not great but a number of options have now emerged due to a shift in fixtures which I will go into prior to GW6 with my considerations and analysis in terms of using my next few transfers. Richarlison on the other hand still is a season keeper for me and that was why I have kept him in my team as it would require 2 transfers for me to bring him out and back in.

Unlike previous post GW post, have gone into talking more specifically about players and teams as some of you might like this more. Do feel free to get in touch with me if you’d like more of such articles or if you like new individual player segments or any specific discussion topics as well. Have a great week!

 

As always, feel free to leave a comment or contact/follow me on Twitter @jonathantwj90 if you wish to discuss anything or have any queries and I hope to hear from you.

Leave a comment