Plans for GW24 and moving forward

We now have the confirmed fixtures list for GW25 and GW27.

Double Gameweek 25 – Everton and Man City
Blank Gameweek 27 – Everton, Man City, Chelsea and Brighton

As for Gameweek 31, these are the only teams that are guaranteed a fixture that week*, Huddersfield, Burnley, Bournemouth, Leicester, Liverpool, Fulham, Newcastle, West Ham

All the other teams not mentioned above will then have a double gameweek in GW32.

*pending the results of the 5th Round of the FA Cup, there will be more teams that join the following list.

For Gameweek 33, these are the only teams that are guaranteed a fixture that week**, Huddersfield, Burnley, Bournemouth, Leicester, Liverpool

All the other teams not mentioned above will then have a double gameweek in GW35.

**pending the results of the QF of the FA Cup, there will be more teams that join the following list.

With that, we have a much clearer idea of how we should set up for the last part of the season as well as how to optimally use our chips. At the moment, my plan is to set up my team to negotiate the blanks in 27 and 31, using my Free Hit to get in all the DGWers for GW32, then Wildcard in GW34 to again maximise the DGWers for GW35. Of course, a lot can change and once the fixture list is finalised for GW31 and GW33, I will be updating my plans to navigate those weeks.

What we have to do for now in order to maximise the use of our chips later in the season is to ensure a strong squad moving forward especially in the blank GWs. It’s often easy to concentrate all our efforts into maximising points during the DGWs and then neglecting the other weeks, losing ground overall in the process. Here’s my team and how I will be setting up for the next few weeks and hopefully this gives you guys an idea of how to best play the next few weeks as well.

Screenshot 2019-01-29 at 1.52.09 PM.png

I will be saving my free transfer this week, not only because it’s one of my favourite things to do but also because my squad sets up really well this week in terms of fixtures. City and Spurs have pretty good fixtures this week but bring in someone like Sane, Son, Sterling etc would mean sacrificing someone from my midfield who could score just as well and typically not worth the transfer. It also allows me to buy more time to decide who I want for DGW25 in addition to having more flexibility to make moves and deal with injuries that occur during GW24.

Captaincy is clear-cut this week again. Feel free to connect with me on twitter as always if you have questions or would like to know some good options to bring in from this week onwards. All the best and I will be back with another update with my plans for DGW25.

Leave a comment